The Lofty Traveler


Travel Planning With A Personal Touch


TSA to Stop Accepting Driver’s Licenses







TSA to Stop Accepting Driver’s Licenses from 9 U.S. States

December 30, 2015




States refusing to comply with the Real ID Act may finally pay the price. But how does it affect your next flight?

In September, we reported that the Department of Homeland Security would begin to enforce the Real ID Act for air travel in 2016, which would require secondary identification for licenses issued by four U.S. states. Now, the DHS has upped the number of licenses that don’t meet their standards, which means that if you’re carrying one from Alaska, California, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, South Carolina, Washington State, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the U.S. Virgin Islands, you might find yourself turned away if you’re not prepared.



In 2005, following the recommendation of the 9/11 Commission, the Real ID Act was passed by Congress with the end goal of making fake IDs harder to obtain. U.S. states and territories were to enforce stricter requirements when issuing IDs, including demanding more proof of identity. Several states, however, refused to comply because of privacy concerns, and it’s catching up to them: Extensions to Real ID requirements are slated to expire on January 10, 2016. The DHS has already denied further extensions for Missouri, Illinois, Minnesota, and Washington state, and has reputedly said they will not extend deadlines for other states.



Don’t break out that passport just yet. Despite the looming deadline less than two weeks away, the DHS has been vague about actually implementing the law, noting that the public will have at least 120 days’ notice before the changes go into effect. Under current guidelines, all state-issued licenses and identification cards (see full list at are accepted at airport checkpoints.